Rounding Off a Great Experience

As we all come to the end of what seems to have been a long 3 weeks, I can finally say, I have totally enjoyed my Professional Experience. When I contacted my school (return placement, and the school I am aiming to work at when I graduate), I immediately panicked when I found out the class I was in. After working in the disability field for the past 9 years I already know a lot of the students at the school I am completing my prac at and when I read who was in the class…….OMG!!! The class consisted of 7 teenage boys all with A LOT of teenage attitude to boot! So I arrived on my first day and they pretty much ignored everything I said and on reflection, this was just the processing time they required to get used to having a new person in THEIR class. As the days and weeks went on I noticed them responding more, and by the beginning of the third week, they are now initiating conversation and listening and responding to directions… GO ME  🙂 After starting this process in a panic, it has turned out to be one of the most enjoyable professional experience placements I have completed. My mentor has been nothing short of amazing and has really boosted my confidence by throwing me in the deep end…. A lesson that I will never forget!

Leave a comment